my z3 business head unit died replace or renew???

Head units and speakers, MP3 and CD changers, GPS and SatNav, plus PDAs, mobile phones, Bluetooth, TalkAbouts...
matney

Z3 roadster 1.9i

my z3 business head unit died replace or renew???

Post by matney »

My head unit i think has given up as the front screen is blank and all the buttons have stop working. All it will do is play the one radio station its currently tuned to. It will switch on and off and thats it.

It is the business rds head unit with the tape player and you press the mode button above the power knob to access the cd changed in the boot.

I presume only these head units are compatible with the cd changer?

Does any one have one of these head units for sale?

If i go for a new head unit how hard are they to fit? Does it all need rewiring and is it a pain to do. Am i better buying something which offers free fitting?

Dont want to spend a fortune but i am not that technically minded when it comes to installing a new stereo, will current speakers be ok etc.

Any recommendations of new stereo to go for? Dont want to go really over the £150 mark

Many thanks

Matt
Z3cade

M roadster S50

Post by Z3cade »

For around £80-100 mark you can get a decent headunit from places like halfords etc...
They can fit it for you but to be honest its quite easy and im sure we could help you install it...
As for your budget id recomend a sony cd player. i have a Sony CDX-GT540UI headunit that also plays your ipod/iphone.... i payed £85 new from halfords... fantastic sound quality with its 24bit dac converter.
Its in my car thread if you want alook at it.
///M Roadster - Evolve Stage 3
GazHyde

Z3 roadster 2.0

Post by GazHyde »

I went for a Sony MEX-BT3800U for £95 from Halfords. Bought the wiring ISO harness to go with it, and had it fitted in about 30 minutes. Pretty much plug and play.