Red Line Water Wetter

Tyres, exhausts, suspension, strut braces, air filters, brake pads/rotors and anything else for 'dawn raiders'.
Southernboy

Z3 roadster 3.0i

Red Line Water Wetter

Post by Southernboy »

Anyone ever used this stuff ?? What's the experience if you have....
"Normal is overrated"

Z3 Upgrades and Additions
TR4man

Z4 coupe 3.0si

Re: Red Line Water Wetter

Post by TR4man »

I have no experience of using it, but my naturally cynical nature would make me ask why would anyone want to?

If I understand it correctly, this product lowers the operating temperature of the water/antifreeze in the radiator. Why? I'm sure that the development engineers at BMW spent much time, effort and money when they developed the Zed to make it run at it's most efficient temperature without resorting to additives.

If your car is running too hot, then all this product will do is disguise the problem rather than solve the root cause.

Sorry that I'm not more enthusiastic about this (and other fancy "must have additives") but I just fail to see the benefits to the average motorist.

Regards

Peter
Southernboy

Z3 roadster 3.0i

Post by Southernboy »

Point taken about additives...My interest is more practical. I have read up on Bimmerforums, a "kit" to use so as to elliminate the Viscous fan attached to the waterpump. This archaic animal sucks up huge ammounts of energy. The "kit" is really quite simple, and includes the use of 2 x 350ml bottles of this water wetter stuff. I live in a hot climate country, - (it's been up around 38C. in the shade lately) and naturally would like to know about any product which will keep the motor cooler, while at the same time, I would like to allow the motor to run more freely and yield better fuel consumption as well as added power.
My curiosity might be rewarded by comments from some of the other members here who have stripped Z3's for racing etc, and would also have dumped the viscous fan.
"Normal is overrated"

Southernboy