Front strut brace & rough cold idle 1998 Z3 M44 (72k mil

UK forum for general and technical discussion about the Z3 roadster
Del

Z3 roadster 1.9

Front strut brace & rough cold idle 1998 Z3 M44 (72k mil

Post by Del »

Hi I am a newbie member having picked up my Z3 this spring as an early retirement hobby/toy. I am gradually working my way through a small list of little imperfections and I am a bit stuck on fixing two. Firstly what seems to be the fairly common problem of a rough idle on cold start only, for around 30 seconds - after this it now runs beautifully across the rev range and idles fine (have replaced plugs NGK BKR6EK/oil/air filter/DISA valve/thermostat/fuel regulator vac pipe/ MAF rubber boot & substituted MAF for another + cleaned it) all to no avail. I am pulling out what little hair I have left over this one.

Second problem is tram-lining which is a little unpleasant on the inside lane of motorways (lorry ruts) particularly if it is also a bit windy. This seems to have become a bit more pronounced since I had 2 new front shocks fitted two months ago and tracking was re-done. Do any experienced members have a view on whether a front strut brace would help?
Jonttt
Z Register member

M roadster S54

Post by Jonttt »

Hi Del, welcome on board.

I don't think a front strut would really help with tramlining as they are designed to stiffen up the handling mid corner ie with forces much greater than tramlining would create on the suspension.

You more likely to see a differnece experimenting with tyre pressures as the Z3's are prone to be sensitive to tyre pressure depending on setup and tyre choice.

Re the rough idel from cold have you tried to see if your throttle is sticking when under auto choke ? Its pretty common for the throttle cable to get stiff over the years and need adjusting (which is pretty easy to do) or replacing. It could be as simple as your cable is sticking at a certain point under choke ?