New to forum and new Z3 owner

UK forum for general and technical discussion about the Z3 roadster
Z3Pete

Z3 roadster 1.9

New to forum and new Z3 owner

Post by Z3Pete »

Hi all,

I did search before posting and so I hope not to have missed a similar post...

New to the forum, BMW, Z3's and been driving Diesels for the last 16 years! Brought a 97 1.9 auto on a bit of an impulse. She looks well, body wise, and 60k on the clock. Leather, two tone, classic blue colour and has electric seats / hood. I hope / plan to maintain her myself (mostly) although I have limited experience (I know, but I like a challenge).

I wondered if there are any local West Yorkshire (Ilkley) members / owners or events in which I could benefit from the advice of more experienced owners? I have spent a number of hours reading the forums Z3 specific posts, and these are very insightful, but I don't even know what she 'should' sound like and a convertible certainly lets you hear more than I'm used to (idle sounds a bit 'lumpy' to me and there seems to be a bit of a whirr'ing sound)!

I have been to a local BMW garage but I wasn't convinced they knew much more that I did! This said, I'm not having a 'cheap pop', they mainly deal with nearly new cars, and no matter how beautiful she may still look (to me), she's 17 years old!

All advice / info greatly received, many thanks

Peter
akirk

Z3 roadster 3.0i

Re: New to forum and new Z3 owner

Post by akirk »

Welcome...
Have a look at some of the meet-ups listed on here, lots of folks to meet and a day out!
Also - worth finding a good independent mechanic, even if you are doing bits yourself... My mechanic is highliy skilled and has maintained my cars for 12+ years - he has such a great depth of knowledge generally on cars (and builds v8 stock cars as a hobby) very worthwhile having someone for peace of mind...

Alasdair
Rafolian

Z3 roadster 2.8

Post by Rafolian »

"BOUGHT"!!!!!!!!!
Davejue1

Z3 roadster 2.8

Post by Davejue1 »