Newbie with questions, thanks all!!!

UK forum for general and technical discussion about the Z3 roadster
swabyk

Z3 roadster 1.9

Newbie with questions, thanks all!!!

Post by swabyk »

Hi All,
Newbie here!

My love affair with Z3’s started in 1999 when I ordered a brand new V-Reg 1.9 in topaz blue and beige leather for myself at the age of 24. Sold it 3-4 years later and knew I’d buy one again one day! That day came at the weekend when I bought the one in the image below. This is a weekend car only for using in the summer. It’s quite good condition with 75k miles but there’s lots of jobs need doing which is perfect as I wanted a little project.

I have a couple of questions if you don’t mind, anyone that can help? Much appreciated!

Amongst the many jobs to do are the door speaker grilles that are messy, they need re-painting, has anyone done this and if so, what paint have you used? Alternatively, can you buy new replacements anywhere other than from a scrapped car?

Secondly, has anyone upgraded their speakers in the car without putting in amps etc, all I want to do is put in a new head-unit and replace the speakers in the original positions but just wondered if anyone had knowledge of what speakers would fit?

Thirdly, i want to get the steering wheel back to black as its a little faded in areas, reading on t’internet ive read that you can use black shoe polish, let it soak in and then polish it up. Anyone tried this or have any other ways of getting it back to black?

Lastly, does anyone know if the wheels on mine are original BMW alloys or after-market etc? A little research with the build sheet has told me that it was shipped with the following wheels; “288 Lt/aly Wheels Leichtmetallraeder”, a bit more research and ‘i think’ these wheels are “BMW cross spoke 29”, can anyone confirm?