output shaft

UK forum for general and technical discussion about the Z3 roadster

Moderator: Gazza

Post Reply
eclips
Joined: Thu 14 Jun, 2018 22:16
Posts: 9

  Z3 roadster 2.8
Location: Aarhus

output shaft

Post by eclips » Mon 23 Mar, 2020 19:47

BMW Z3 2.8 i must have changed output shaft , but i can not get the big nut 29mm loose ( sits in the hub )
it is very stuck ,, good idea wished , best regard Allan

User avatar
Althulas
Joined: Fri 13 Feb, 2009 00:55
Posts: 813

  M roadster S50

Re: output shaft

Post by Althulas » Tue 24 Mar, 2020 01:29

Hi Alan a good impact gun will make short work of it, it’s how I did mine Makita DTW1002Z 18 V LXT Brushless 1/2In Impact Wrench Bare Unit, 500 W, Blue, Large https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01AVXACYO/ ... EEbPMTPJQ5

A bit of an outlay with an added charger and batteries but an invaluable tool. Dewalt have a similar spect one DEWALT 18 V XR Brushless 1/2 Inch High Torque Impact Wrench (950 Nm), Bare Unit https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00VXN7TUW/ ... EEb3JCEM0F but have the added bonus of the batteries being able to be used in a cordless angle grinder as well . If your lucky to have your car on your drive/ garage you could buy a corded one cheaper but make sure the specs have a high nut busting torque.
If you like gaming with mature minded players visit our retirement home http://www.oap-clan.co.uk/
ImageImage

Juvvajuvva
Joined: Sun 06 Nov, 2016 16:52
Posts: 82

  Z3 roadster 2.8

Re: output shaft

Post by Juvvajuvva » Fri 27 Mar, 2020 16:55

The only ones I have are 36mm.
Put the hand brake on, take the wheel off, get a long bar and put it between two of the studs and lock it out on the floor or built up wood choks. Get your breaker bar with your 36mm socket, slide a scaffold pole over the breaker bar handle and undo the nut.
Then take the calliper off.
You can do it without the calliper or disc on the car no problem but the car needs to be on very sturdy jack stands , not little cheapo ones.
It’s safer in your own with one wheel in the ground with the hand brake on.

eclips
Joined: Thu 14 Jun, 2018 22:16
Posts: 9

  Z3 roadster 2.8
Location: Aarhus

Re: output shaft

Post by eclips » Fri 27 Mar, 2020 18:00

thank you so much for good idea,,,

eclips
Joined: Thu 14 Jun, 2018 22:16
Posts: 9

  Z3 roadster 2.8
Location: Aarhus

Re: output shaft

Post by eclips » Tue 14 Apr, 2020 19:10

thanks for the good advice , then the nut came off ,,, i need new drive shaft ,
is there a suggestion for unoriginal type , or anyone who can suggest a product
to my Z3 2.8 1998,

User avatar
Althulas
Joined: Fri 13 Feb, 2009 00:55
Posts: 813

  M roadster S50

Re: output shaft

Post by Althulas » Tue 14 Apr, 2020 21:07

Why do you need a new shaft can it be refurbished. There are secondhand ones on eBay but twice the price of a new but not oem from BMW https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/142313097525
If you like gaming with mature minded players visit our retirement home http://www.oap-clan.co.uk/
ImageImage

eclips
Joined: Thu 14 Jun, 2018 22:16
Posts: 9

  Z3 roadster 2.8
Location: Aarhus

Re: output shaft

Post by eclips » Fri 17 Apr, 2020 15:40

hallo ,, how much do i tighten the shaft nut Nm in the wheel hub , ???
i have bought 2 new ones , drive shaft , with regards Allan

User avatar
Althulas
Joined: Fri 13 Feb, 2009 00:55
Posts: 813

  M roadster S50

Re: output shaft

Post by Althulas » Sat 18 Apr, 2020 07:15

There’s a Zip file in this thread https://zroadster.org/threads/z3-torque-info.32785/ with a list of torque values for Z3 and Z3M
If you like gaming with mature minded players visit our retirement home http://www.oap-clan.co.uk/
ImageImage

eclips
Joined: Thu 14 Jun, 2018 22:16
Posts: 9

  Z3 roadster 2.8
Location: Aarhus

Re: output shaft

Post by eclips » Sat 18 Apr, 2020 08:03

Hej , many thanks for your help , nice with the whole list , regards Allan

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests